A sigh of relief

Last week I left behind my first grown-up-real-world job. I know I’ll miss my work friends and seeing my byline on the front page. I’m sure I’ll miss the positive feedback from people in the community too. But for now, I’m feeling relieved. In the last few days I’ve had an opportunity to truly rest. I read without feeling guilty and I spent quality time with people (without a timer in my head saying “you’ve only got 1 hour to spare”). I helped my parents with a garage sale and titled paintings for my aunt’s art show, but even these “jobs” felt more free. I wasn’t so selfish with my time.

I know things will pick up and I’ll be busy again by tomorrow, but I’m not worried. I’m pumped for this next chapter. I have poison ivy, blisters on my hands, and all of my money is in dollar bills and quarters — but I feel more like myself than I have in a reallyyyyy long time. 

Have a stellar Sunday.

xo, Mal

Leave a Reply

