“I will learn to love the skies I’m under”

IMG_2214

This weekend two of my best friends and I had the opportunity to see some amazing bands at the Gentlemen of the Road stopover in Troy. The two-day festival brings music to small, semi-interesting towns.

They blocked off the streets of downtown Troy and all of the shops had signs and flags and decorations for Gentlemen of the Road. We had gyros, rootbeer floats and tacos from vendors in the streets.

IMG_2286IMG_2283

The line-up was great. We sat through some rain and didn’t even mind. It was especially amazing to see Mumford & Sons live.

I remember hearing Mumford for the first time in my car with Evelyn and Andy Lynn sophomore year. He insisted we listen to the whole album, and I’m really glad he did.

I love Mumford for a lot of different reasons, but the biggest reason is that they sing about themes and thoughts that matter. Their lyrics aren’t just about heartbreak and falling in love with someone who’s caught their eye. They sing about hope and light and restoration. They use parables and allegories with staying power: thistles and weeds; souls designed to meet their maker; purity before a king. And people sing along! Thousands of people sang their hearts out to these songs standing on a high school football field in Troy.

Mumford & Sons start conversations about brokenness and voids, and they don’t suggest that the only fix is finding the right girl at the bar or holding onto someone tight. They ask questions about pride, fear and the condition of a person’s heart.

I guess I’m gushing about this because I want my work to inspire the same things in people. My writing or my friendship or my counsel or whatever. People do need hope. And I don’t want to short change them by offering them something else.

IMG_2298
Winston Marshall from Mumford and Ketch Secor from Old Crow Medicine Show performed “Awake my Soul” together ❤

IMG_2213


IMG_2269IMG_2277

xo, Mallory

Leave a Reply

